St. Mary and St. Moses Coptic Orthodox Church (Formerly Sacred Heart R C Church) was founded in 1924 by Bishop Michael Fallon to respond to the rising demand in what had become a booming community in Walkerville. Rev. Denis Brison oversaw the construction of both the temporary wooden church on the site. The present structure was built in 1927.
The Roman Catholic Church has been consolidating parishes in Windsor’s core and in 2002 the building was sold to the Coptic Community of Windsor who renamed the church as “St. Mary and St. Moses” church. A project to convert the sanctuary to the Orthodox style was completed by Coptic artisans.
Architects John R. Boyde (of the renowned local firm J.C. Pennington) Leighton, designed this Neo-Gothic style church and adjacent rectory. It boasts richly ornamented brick and stonework and a magnificent arched entranceway topped by a rosette window. The entrance is flanked with twin steeples with domes.
The church 2nd location
In 2021, the church opened its 2nd location at 2525 Jefferson Blvd. The new building includes a chapel under the name of Saints, Pope Kyrillos & Pope Shenouda (SPKPS), a Youth Centre, and a kids club.
The new building Jefferson Ave has multiple uses for the community of Windsor and Tecumseh. The building was bought to serve as a place for Coptic Orthodox Christian worship and for church liturgies and baptisms to be performed. Moreover, it was purchased to serve all community members and provide a place for multiple Christian faiths, such as Coptic, Eritrean, Ethiopian, Iraqi, Sudanese, and all Christian Canadians. In addition, community members can gather and perform multiple activities together, such as Sunday school services, events for younger children, youth meetings, family meetings, senior meetings, newly married meetings, and couple meetings. Moreover, courses are offered for the Christian faith and for those who will soon be married.